Favorites ()
Board members greeting other board members.

Board of Governors

School of Engineering Board of Governors

Graduate Programs in Software is housed in the School of Engineering at St. Thomas.

The Board of Governors guides the strategic direction of the School of Engineering and assists it in accomplishing its mission. The Board utilizes its influence, both internally within the University and externally, to promote and support the engineering programs at the University of St. Thomas and to enhance the value of the engineering profession as viewed by society. Board membership consists of prominent academic, industry, and public sector leaders.

Folder, pages and pen on table with label Graduate Programs in Engineering

The Board of Governors performs the following functions:

  • Promotes the University of St. Thomas reputation as an outstanding School of Engineering.
  • Facilitates the acquisition of the resources necessary to develop and maintain a world-class engineering program at University of St. Thomas.
  • Provides guidance in the formation of an engineering education responsive to the demands of contemporary society that advocates ethical and principled behavior.
  • Guides the University of St. Thomas School of Engineering in dealing with critical contemporary issues.
  • Creates a forum for critical thought, analysis and knowledge on ethical, resource sustaining engineering in a societal context.
  • Attracts additional Board of Governors members who can leverage achievement of the Board’s objectives.

Board of Governors Members

We are grateful to the individuals who donate their time to be on our advisory board.

Chip Emery

School of Engineering Board of Governors Chairman - CEO MTS (Retired)

Michael Kesti

VP Corporate Research Lab,

Marc Bumbargner

VP & GM, Emerson Automation Solutions

Kris Burhardt

Partner, Clotho & Associates

Kyle Carpenter

MacPhail Center for Music

Sam Claassen

President/CEO, Short Elliott Hendrickson Inc.

Steve DiMarco

Executive V.P./General Manager - Tolomatic

Rich Farrell

CEO, Nextern Medical

Wendy Foslien

Thermo King/Trane Technologies

Steve Kelly

Commissioner of Commerce, MN Department of Commerce

Katy Kolbeck

President & CEO (Retired), Dunham Associates

Rick Krueger

Director of Government Affairs, Global Transportation Technologies, Inc (GTT)

C. McKenzie (Mac) Lewis III

Founder and Partner, Sherpa Partners - Field Solutions, Inc

Kerry Marusich

CEO, Third Wave Systems

Jill Measelis

The Works Museum

Bhabani Misra

Associate Dean - School of Engineering, University of St. Thomas

Paul Mortell

PJM Consulting

Nicolas Nahas


Kevin Nicholson

President, Mate Precision Tooling

Gary Obermiller

Operating Partner, Mill City Capital

Julie Pierce

Minnesota Power

Jill Reilly

President, ELM Consultants, LLC

Mike Schrock

President & COO (Retired), Oak Hill Capital

Mark Schumacher

President & CEO, Mocon-Ametek

Eivind Stenersen

VP of Technology, Lube-Tech

Mike Thyken

Chief Technology Officer, Caring Bridge

Dale Wahlstrom

Act 3, LLC

Jim Weglewski

VP - Corporate Quality, Sustainability & Facilities, Anderson Corporation

Don Weinkauf

Dean - School of Engineering, University of St. Thomas